Some aspects of Jean Piaget’s Theory of Cognitive Development that we take into account when creating environments and attending the children in Casa Sulà.
An excerpt from: McLeod, S. A. (2018, June 06). Jean Piaget’s theory of cognitive development. Simply Psychology.

Piaget’s 4 Stages of Cognitive Development
Piaget proposed four stages of cognitive development which reflect the increasing sophistication of children’s thought:

  1. Sensorimotor stage (birth to age 2)
  2. Preoperational stage (from age 2 to age 7)
  3. Concrete operational stage (from age 7 to age 11)
  4. Formal operational stage (age 11+ – adolescence and adulthood).

Each child goes through the stages in the same order, and child development is determined by biological maturation and interaction with the environment.

Although no stage can be missed out, there are individual differences in the rate at which children progress through stages, and some individuals may never attain the later stages.

Piaget did not claim that a particular stage was reached at a certain age – although descriptions of the stages often include an indication of the age at which the average child would reach each stage.

Sensorimotor Stage (Birth-2 yrs)
The main achievement during this stage is Object Permanence – knowing that an object still exists, even if it is hidden.

It requires the ability to form a mental representation (i.e., a schema) of the object.

Preoperational Stage (2-7 years)
During this stage, young children can think about things symbolically. This is the ability to make one thing – a word or an object – stand for something other than itself.

Thinking is still egocentric, and the infant has difficulty taking the viewpoint of others.

Concrete Operational Stage (7-11 years)
Piaget considered the concrete stage a major turning point in the child’s cognitive development because it marks the beginning of logical or operational thought.

This means the child can work things out internally in their head (rather than physically try things out in the real world).

Children can conserve number (age 6), mass (age 7), and weight (age 9). Conservation is the understanding that something stays the same in quantity even though its appearance changes.

Formal Operational Stage (11 years and over)
The formal operational stage begins at approximately age eleven and lasts into adulthood. During this time, people develop the ability to think about abstract concepts, and logically test hypotheses.